A Few Words on “Faith”

Because of all the father issues I’ve had in my life, pleasing God is the most important goal of my spirit and emotions.  Drawing near to God in every ‘real’ way is the only thing that satisfies and fulfills my longing to be claimed, possessed, and owned.  He’s the only One Who can do that for us.

For me, everything starts with faith.  Holy Spirit puts it out there, and I choose to grab hold of it by His power.

“But without faith, it is impossible to please Him…” Hebrews 11:6a

When I read those words while still young in my salvation, to me, the mission was clear.  God’s favor is more precious than life;  I believe that.  His favor rests on those who please Him, and He is pleased by those who exercise FAITH.

When I obey God by faith, He shows Himself strong on my behalf, which builds my trust.  The more I trust Him, the more I obey Him.  The more I obey Him, the more He sees that I truly love Him – so He strengthens my faith – and we go to a higher level where, the stronger my faith, the more I will please Him.  I love that powerful and abiding cycle.

Faith is a choice with an enormous payoff.  Romans 4:3 says –

“Abraham believed God, and it was imputed to him for righteousness.”

I’ve always loved that about God within him, especially the part where scripture says –

“He did not waver at the promise of God through unbelief, but was strengthened in faith, giving glory to God and being fully persuaded that what He had promised, He was able also to perform.”  (Rom. 4:20-21)

Hallelujah! By choosing to have faith in God we’ve got nothing to lose and everything to gain.  So I heed Holy Spirit’s tender advice when He says:  Just believe God anyway – regardless of your circumstances and whether or not things turn out your way, as Christ said – “Have faith in God.” (Mark 11:22)  Amen.

I have made the choice to have faith because, above all things in life, I want to please God.

His FAITH is welcomed in my house.

=0]  Shamma

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

