What Do You Think?

In two years I’ll be 50 and I’m amazed I made it this far.  I haven’t exactly fought God “tooth and toenail” as my twin sister would say, but He’s had His work cut out for Him over the years.  Have you made it to 48, 49, or 50?  Hspring-flower-and-snowow do you feel about it?

Tonight I’m expecting spring to show itself in new ways.  The calendar says it’s spring and so do my emotions.  I’m waiting to breathe the first fresh spring air and feel warmth from the sun as well as light.  Earth’s growing closer to it… warm weather is a miracle.  I don’t suppose there are blizzards in Heaven (at least I hope not), even for Saints who relish cold weather.  What do you think?

God’s encouragement is like sunrise.  His comfort is like snuggling into a soft, warm bed.  His rebuke and correction is like being temporarily handcuffed; it pinches a bit and holds me still until I realize where I am.  The cuffs reflect His claim to ownership of me; so even though it stings for a moment, I wouldn’t have it any other way.  Do you like being owned by God?  I do.

I have liteHandcuffs01_2008-07-27rally experienced times when I “feel” Holy Spirit’s hand over my mouth.  It’s usually when I’m tempted to punch someone in the face.  Surprised?  Don’t be; I’m human, too.  Without the “self-control” gift of Holy Spirit, I’d probably be frowning behind a bunch of numbers in a mug shot book.  The flesh doesn’t care who it kills, y’all.  Anyone giving in to it is a likely enough candidate.  I praise God for His TREMENDOUS mercy on me.  I thank God for Holy Spirit’s hand over my mouth.  What’s your opinion on that?

How would you rate yourself as a person?  Ever ask yourself that?  I think, on a scale of one to ten, I would rate myself a seven – especially heartsgiven what God has mercifully done for me.  Every good and merciful work within me is His doing and, as far as I’m concerned, no one but Jesus is a ten.  Do you have any idea how hard it is to allow God to even make you a seven??  And let me back up the truck to pick up a little more realism and humility and say, I’m a seven on an extraordinarily GOOD day… the rest of the time I’m about a five, but Abba’s love of me is always a ten and, for that, I’m grateful beyond words… deliriously so in fact.

I am a plain girl who loves the Lord with all her heart and is used by Him due to His everlasting mercy, favor, and love for me.  How do you feel about that?

Goodnight, everybody.

Shamma

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

