What’s wrong with cool breezes?

Before we know it the summer will be over and we’ll be knee-deep in snow again.  I know we’ve got the better part of two months before that happens and, believe me, I’m grateful.  But every time the summer breeze blows a little cooler than I think, my mind goes to winter… I guess because I’m no winter girl.

I love looking out at frosty mornings from the warmth of my house and squinting at sunlight streaking brightly from ice-laden trees.  I really do; and it’s extremely picturesque.  However… try as I might to be otherwise (though I’ve never really tried), I am a summer girl deep down in my heart.  I only marginally like spring, although I’m grateful for it because it beats the heck out of winter.  I am a summer girl.

Would I miss the change of seasons if ever I should leave here?  ABSOLUTELY, I would.  New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut are my original stomping grounds.  Over the years I’ve also grown very fond of New Jersey, though I never thought I would.  I consider it a blessing to have lived here for 15 years, but “home” is wherever God is, whether the seasons change or not.

So let winter come and be here… it’s coming – yes, I know.  The summer months will come around again and I’ll stop complaining about the snow.  Cool breezes bring relief, Sharon! That’s what I keep telling myself, and it’s true.  West winds bring rain and summer will return again to break the grip of ice and snow.  So the cycle will not cease because God’s covenant is sure…

“While the earth remains, seed-time and harvest, cold and heat, summer and winter, and day and night shall not cease.” (Genesis 8:22)

It’s one of my favorite verses in the Bible, declaring the Noahic covenant of peace between God and nature and man.  But one day it will be too hot for everything, won’t it?  And the elements will melt away with fervent heat… of that we also have God’s promise.  Then it will not matter whether there is change of seasons… then it will not matter whether New York or New Jersey is my abode.  My “home” will be with Jesus, and the atmosphere will be safely His.  Then I know that I’ll be full of JOY and will never again dread cool breezes.

Goodnight.

SHARON

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

