Starting over “older” is fine, right?

Starting over “older” is okay.  It really is.  It’s fine.

Ever say stuff like that to yourself but not believe a word of it?  So have I.  But the real truth is that, as I grow older, (and I’m not Methuselah by anyyy means!) I realize starting over really is okay.  We’re better equipped as we move along in life and in the wisdom of God.

I look back on a life lived largely for Jesus, but also one that once bent and swayed with the wind like a reed – and once bobbed and bowed like a rudderless shipDSCN0379 on sin’s choppy ocean.  Life’s held a lot for me, and it’s got a lot more in store.  The difference is I’m not approaching the future in sin or shame or bondage or with overwhelmingly heavy, rotting carcasses of the past clinging to my soul. That’s the Lord’s doing.

New beginnings, by God’s definition, are just that.  The old has gone – the new has come.

Yeah, the flesh is still here so I’ve determined to submit myself to Jesus in even stronger ways… but I’ve got Holy Spirit and years of living a Godly, submitted life to uphold me.  I always need upholding because the flesh always craps out.  The flesh is weak, just like Jesus said; it never helps out, it always complains and whines and criticizes.  The flesh stinks, and that’s all it ever will do.

HOWEVER…  (it’s high time for a “however” here, Sharon)

Christ Jesus has been putting my flesh in a sound-proof room for nearly 40 years now… straight-jacketed and helpless, unless I give into its chiding and grousing and selfish irritations.  Yuck! Sharon, stop that!

Let “Shamma” take over and have the upper hand… let the spirit-man named “Obedient One” follow the Lord to safer shores and even coasts and sweet-smelling seas in righteousness, peace, and JOY in Holy Ghost.  Let the old be gone so the new can fully come!  Start the new year with a SHOUT…!

Starting over “older” is free and easy as long as Christ is involved.  With Jesus the Christ – truly – it’s okay… it’s fine.

SHAMMA

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

