Forgiveness is No Fiction

Our spiritual condition affects our writing.

Holy Spirit let me know that a manner of purging and cleansing is found in incorporating past encounters into character descriptions.  I suppose that’s a truism long-since known and understood by writers, but it’s only just now really settled upon me.

For instance, the Christian Sci-Fi story I’m writing, called “The Precipice” is basically the testimony of hardships I’ve experienced with family betrayals, set to outer space.  There was a time I thought writing the story would be irreverent, and I talked to God about it.  But He told me that aligning my life experiences with fanciful thinking embroidered by Abba’s gifting to my imagination would make it easier for me to receive truths about the human condition in general and the reasons behind my loved-ones’ unrighteous choices.

How about that?  I know that, while there are never any excuses for ungodly behavior, there are myriad reasons for it.  Knowing those reasons often tenders us to those who’ve hurt us.  We’re supposed to love them… to allow Holy Spirit to replace our eyes with Abba’s when we look at them.  Welcoming God’s supernatural abilities within me as I recall circumstances surrounding their betrayals and set them to imaginary environments opens my mind to whys and wherefores attached to those betrays I’d never considered.  Understanding can be applied where it previously wasn’t.

Understanding ISN’T condoning – make no mistake.  For instance, we understand that jealousy and pride were embraced by Lucifer and facilitated his fall from right standing with Jehovah.  We don’t agree with or condone his actions, but we understand them.

Some things we’ll never understand because they’re not understandable… why he didn’t repent when given the chance, for example.  That’s not understandable… it’s insanity.  It’s what God calls the Lucifer Simplex, and I write about that, too, when I touch on the refusal of my earthly father and siblings to receive Jesus, even though they knew His way was best.  That’s craziness, plain and simple.

Writing about these failings and setting them to circumstances that breathe new life to my perspectives is healthy for me, God says, because it paves new ground in areas of forgiveness, even in the face of their wrongdoing.  In the end, my life is not about them and God – it’s about ME and God… about my decision to live righteously before Him no matter what others do to me.  My life needs constant repair, restoration, and recovery.  Writing is just one of the areas God uses to accomplish that.

Dear God, as usual, I’m grateful.

Your SHARON

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

