Coming Alive Again

I’ve resumed painting – this time with acrylics – and I really like it.

My husband has taken a greater interest in cooking lately – and he seems to like it also. That’s a good thing for both of us.  Serving God is our main focus, and He allows us to indulge in hobbies to His glory that also bring us JOY.

I’m experimenting with clouds… painting them, I mean.

Jack is experimenting with broiling… his first attempt was delicious! Just browning the mashed potatoes set atop two blocks of meatloaf… kind of Shepherd’s Pie style… and we truly enjoyed it.

The Lord helped me with every single thing I did painting with those brushes; feeling them in my hands (I’m ambidextrous) and getting the shading and highlighting right.  God is SO generous. Here’s how they turned out:

Jpeg
“Light Among the Treetops” Copyright 2016 SJ Palmer

The treetops aren’t always noticed by many – including me. When big, fluffy clouds pass over them headed toward the light from now on I will try to look up at the “Light Among the Treetops” © 2016.

I’d never painted a cloud prior to this and, truthfully, the top set are my very favorite; the bottom need adjusting albeit, with clouds, any shape has realism.

The way acrylics dry so quickly takes some getting used to, but I’ve found I truly enjoy the way their setting so quickly keeps me on point as I paint. I started as an oils girl.

A New Land

So now my husband is drawing closer and closer to the kitchen, and I think he really likes it. He’s the kind of person who needs to keep busy or else he feels unproductive, unworthy, and without value. While I’ve committed that gross misconception to God’s power, I am happy to see him gravitate toward an enjoyable pastime. Nothing wrong with having hobbies, only something wrong when the hobbies “have” you. God willing, I will live and continue praying for his sense of self-worth.  Concurrently, I’ll enjoy the little masterpieces that make him feel useful. Here’s how those mini Shepherd’s Pies turned out:

Jpeg
Jack’s mini Shepherd’s Pies

YUM! 🙂 God will use whatever means available to breathe life back into a waning situation.  Acrylics painting for me and cooking for Jack is a healthy step in the right direction. When life is present and flourishing, death can be driven away quickly, evenly, and with trust. God is our constant Help; He is our Breath of Life, our Friend, and our Trust everlasting.  Amen.

SHAMMA

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

