Another Painting… and a Shock

The latest painting God has given me is called, “Prayer Trees”, and I have felt emotionally attached to this one. That’s a good thing. It’s me and the Godhead in the secret place of communion we share. Its actual colors are purple and green – but my camera skills aren’t the best – the settings should have been adjusted correctly before I took this. Sorry…

Prayer Trees
“Prayer Trees” © 2016, S. Palmer. All Rights Reserved.

I’m still learning and growing in use of the acrylics medium; I’ve historically used oils, which I also enjoy. Acrylics, however, dry so quickly the gratification of seeing the results of what I paint comes quickly… who doesn’t like that?  Please pray for me as I continue on this extremely enjoyable road by God’s power, grace, generosity, and mercy.

A Sad Shock

Recently I read a message online that actually said interracial and intergenerational marriages are sinful! Needless to say, I was entirely shocked and saddened by it… especially because I am married to a white man 28 years my senior.

I completely disagree with that message; I’ve remanded its author to God’s custody, that the light of God’s truth will permeate their heart and mind. Racial prejudice and age prejudice… prejudice of any kind… that’s sin.

Unless God commands otherwise*, we are not to be unequally yoked together with unbelievers – God makes no such command regarding saved males and females of different races or generations coming together in marriage. We’re one in Christ Jesus, and there are myriad instances in scripture where patriarchs married outside their race and were generations older than their spouses. Moses and Abraham both remarried outside their race; also, it’s more than likely Gideon had those 70 children with different, younger, wives over his lifetime… and so what? Like everything, the marriage bond is subject to the will of the Father; otherwise, why did God command Hosea to marry Gomer – an actively sinning prostitute? She wasn’t following Yahweh (to say the least), yet in God’s desire to reflect Israel’s whoredom toward Him, *He commanded their union.

We’re not the Judge, GOD is…

Also, recommending that couples who’ve entered into these so-called “sinful” marriages stay married for the sake of not being divorced is duplicitous confusion. If it were true that interracial/intergenerational marriage is sin, God would never sanction such unions continuing; He would command their termination so that “sin” would be abandoned.  You can’t have it both ways.

Prejudice is a sin of the heart and emotions that can only be handled through repentance. That’s my prayer in this matter; that all who embrace the belief that God will not accept married believers of “every kindred, every tongue, and every nation” into His Household through faith in Jesus Christ will be pierced by the light of God’s convicting truth and repent.

In the interim, my husband and I are fulfilling God’s plan for our lives with JOY. Amen.

SHAMMA 🙂

Leave a Reply (NO links, please! Links will be deleted.)

